Who is the new Prime Minister of Israel?

Naftali Bennett was sworn-in as the new Prime Minister of Israel last night, after winning a confidence vote with the narrowest of margins, just 60 votes to 59.

Current Affairs His victory ended the 12-year power of former Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, the country’s longest-serving leader.

  • Former defence minister and high-tech millionaire, Bennett, a 49-year-old leader of the right-wing Yamina party, took oath of office after the Israeli parliament Knesset elected him as the 13th Prime Minister by a 60-59 vote in the 120-member house. One lawmaker abstained. The Knesset last night voted on the new coalition government led by Mr. Bennett. His government has 27 ministers, nine of them women.
  • Mr Bennett will be prime minister until September 2023 as part of a power-sharing deal. He will then hand power over to Yair Lapid for a further two years.